Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dr. Barbara Sapienza Memorial Library: Databases

ABC-CLIO

 

American History covers 1350 - Present Day


Daily Life Through History covers Pre-History through Present Day


Issues covers various themes including Law & Politics, Environmental Conflict & Degradation, Gender & Sexuality, etc.


Pop Culture Universe explores icons, idols, and ideas from 1900 to Present Day


World History: The Modern Era explores time periods from 1700 through Present Day


World Religions explores major religions, new religions, unbelief, and traditional religions

 


ABC-CLIO also provides eBooks!

Click here to go to their eBook page.

If you are prompted to login, use the same login you used for the other

ABC-CLIO databases. 


 

Britannica

Britannica Academic


Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary


Britannica Escolar (Spanish)


Britannica Moderna (Spanish)


Encyclopedia Universalis (French)

Encyclopedia Universalis Jr. (French)


Britannica Japan 

 

JSTOR

- If you're accessing this from school, it should be automatically signed in. If not, remember to put in the username and password. 

LOC Newspapers

Library of Congress

Chronicling America

  • Search historic American newspapers
  • Pages are images and Optical Character Recognition (OCR) is used to find and highlight keywords you used in your search.  

Newspaper Navigator

  • Search historic American newspaper images 
  • Uses newspapers from Chronicling America
  • You can create a collection of images
  • Train My AI capabilities - the system retrieves similar images for you that you can + or - to "train" the system. Please watch the video on the site for more information on this!

 

 

Click here for PVHS database logins!

In order to access the Google Doc with the logins, make sure you are signed into your Pascack email account. 


Click on the "Research Tools" tab above if you need information on NoodleTools

ProQuest

 

Click the logo above for the login page!


SIRS Issues Researcher - This link will take you to a LibGuide about SIRS Issues Researcher created by ProQuest.


Global Newsstream -"Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format."  This link will take you to a LibGuide about Global Newsstream created by ProQuest.


Historical Newspapers This link will take you to a LibGuide about Historical Newspapers created by ProQuest.

Publicly Available Content - "Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available content from a number of different sources from around the world."


Coronavirus Research Database‎ - "A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak."

Why Use a Database?

Gale


Global Issues will help you analyze modern global issues. 


Archives Unbound  has digital collections of historical documents to support research.


Gale Primary Sources allows users to search digital archives in a single cross-search interface.

Opposing Viewpoints has information and opinions on hundreds of social issues.


eBooks 


 

 

EBSCO

EBSCO (Main Group)


-use this to search across all the available EBSCO databases


-full-text database that includes: books, literary journals, plot summaries, synopses, essays, criticisms, biographies, book reviews. Full-text poems, short stories, author interviews and classic texts.

- research interface for primary school students from EBSCO

 

– research interface for high school students from EBSCO

 – search by topics, featured articles, and more!

 – basics, start-up, videos, etc.

 – legal forms by state, patents, immigration, travel, wills, personal injury, rental agreements, and more

- presents multiple sides of current and controversial issues. Supporting materials and articles are included

 – NoveList can help users find their next perfect book!

Teacher Resources 

Explora Educator’s Edition – Lesson Plans, Curriculum Standards, Student Tools, and Valuable Sites for Teachers


eBooks

 - You will have to scroll down to eBook collection and click on the link to see all the books! 

 

For the eBook collections below, you will have to search through to find the books you are looking for.

MasterFILE Reference eBook Collectionebooks covering topics such as: biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.

 

Literary Reference eBook Collection -  eBook collection of full text classics, study guides, criticisms, etc.


EBSCOhost Web

covers various subjects, full-text journals and peer-reviewed titles.

- indexing and abstracts, and Open Access texts on all aspects of the human impact on the environment

  - indexes journals, books, research reports, and more (dating back to the 1960’s). This is mainly for those interested in librarianship, cataloging, bibliometrics, information management, online searching and information retrieval.

 -reference publications dating back to 1984, covers most subject areas (photos, maps, flags, & 52 full text reference books)

-bibliographic database that guides users to records about the Americas during the posted years.

-full texts to journals and periodicals (also has abstracts)

 full text of business publications dating back to 1985 (includes company profiles)

 full text regional business publications

 abstracts and indexing for teacher/administrator journals and magazines

 the Education Resource Information Center has reports, teaching guides, journals, dissertations, and more dating back to 1966.

Pascack Valley High School 200 Piermont Avenue Hillsdale, NJ 07642